Seed Savers Exchange Forum

Go Back   Seed Savers Exchange Forum > Gardening > Soil, Mulch & Compost

Notices

Old 07-31-2008, 06:31 AM   #1
ReikiHands

Default Maggots make compost -- article

July 26, 2008

I've been composting my kitchen waste for 20 years, and there's not much in the way of rotting food that can gross me out anymore. But last summer, the maggots appeared.

For years we'd had an open-air compost pile that we'd manage by layering food scraps with leaves and soil, then turning it over periodically. We saw bugs occasionally, but the turning kept them from getting too comfortable.

Then the city of Santa Cruz sold us a set of plastic, rodent-proof compost bins. The shape of the bins prevented turning of the compost, which then took ages to decompose and left layers of deoxygenated slime that stank to high heaven when you shoveled it out.

One afternoon, during a midsummer heat wave, I went to toss a bucket of food scraps into the bin. The surface of the pile was gently undulating. A carrot top appeared to be waving at me, a scrap of bread bobbed up and down. I bent in for a closer look. Big mistake.

The bin was boiling with brown and beige maggots, big leathery fellows 3/4 inch long and nearly 1/4 inch wide.

My scalp tingled, and I frantically checked my bare legs for creepy crawlies. I hurled the scraps into the bin and fled.

I didn't know what to do about this infestation, so, once my alarm subsided, I decided to do nothing. I was curious to see what would happen. If the result was unpleasant, I figured, those rodent-proof bins would be history.
Hungry, hungry maggots

Over a period of weeks I noticed a few things about my new tenants: They ate like crazy. If you tossed it in, it vanished within hours. And the compost no longer stank; it now had the mild odor of damp straw.