Seed Savers Exchange Forum

Go Back   Seed Savers Exchange Forum > Gardening > Seed Saving

Notices

Old 06-25-2008, 05:40 PM   #1
Earl Grey

Default Seed Storage

Are there any new thoughts on seed saving?
I was thinking of vacuum sealing in one of those food saver things but does that make sense? Should I wrap them in paper first to protect them from the light? Any other tips?
Earl Grey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 08:26 PM   #2
dcarch

I am not an expert on this topic, but considering vacuum is what people use to completely dehydrate material, I would think that's not good for seeds.

dcarch
dcarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 12:14 AM   #3
Earl Grey

It just vacuums the air out of the bag. If anything, it would keep the existing moisture in.
So if not the sealer, what is the best way to store seeds?
Earl Grey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 04:36 AM   #4
seedsavers
SSE Staff

I think the most important aspect is airtight - so any humid air cannot get in. Many of the seeds at SSE are stored in heat-sealed foil packets.

We do press any excess air out of the bags before sealing (so you don't end up with that potato chip bag pillow effect), but the air isn't actually sucked out.

Unless you need really long-term storage, you should be able to get away with paper packets stored in an airtight container. If you live in a humid climate you can put some desiccant in there to absorb any moisture (rather than taking the chance of the seeds absorbing it).

For what it's worth, the seeds I plant in my garden have been sitting in opened paper packets in a hallway (just sitting in open boxes) for 2-3 years now and are germinating just fine. Obviously not the recommended method, but they hold out pretty darn well without much concern for the most part.
seedsavers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 05:22 AM   #5
dcarch

I have always wondered if the following ways have any advantage to keep seeds viable longer: