Seed Savers Exchange Forum

Go Back   Seed Savers Exchange Forum > Gardening > Vegetables, Fruits & Other Edibles

Notices

Old 06-26-2010, 11:51 AM   #1
spngebobmyhero

Default When to grow carrots?

When do you usually plant carrots? Should I grow them in the fall when it cools down a bit or can the be planted when it is hot? This is my first year gardening, so I have no experience with them!
spngebobmyhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 12:10 PM   #2
kellysgarden

Carrots are difficult to sprout. They require a long time to germinate, with a cool, damp soil. While carrot seeds are in the soil waiting to germinate, the soil must remain cool and moist. For this reason, they are usually sown in the spring.

If Nature were to grow a carrot without the intervention of man, this is how it would work: (I have seen this happen numerous times in my own garden.) The seed head matures in the late fall. The seeds drop to the ground where they overwinter under the snow. They germinate on their own as the snows melt and the soil starts to warm up. I usually notice many volunteer carrot plants germinating by end of March/first of April.
kellysgarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 09:49 AM   #3
MiakelMazz

Originally posted by kellysgarden:
If Nature were to grow a carrot without the intervention of man,
She does. Have you ever seen wild carrots(queen ans lace). They look so similar to carrots and the root is exactly like a white carrot. It smell identical. Same flowers, similar leaves and growth cycle. I imagine it is the origin of the demestic carrot.
MiakelMazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 05:25 PM   #4
kellysgarden

I understand that carrots were originally white, but through breeding became different colors. Queen Anne's lace is the original carrot, if I understand correctly, but have also heard that Queen Anne's lace is poisonous. Not sure about that though.
kellysgarden is offline   Reply With Quote