Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sweet Potato Planting Organic Square Foot raised beds?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sweet Potato Planting Organic Square Foot raised beds?

This is my first time to plant sweet potatoes. I just planted six sweet potato slips (Wilma's) eight (8) days ago.

** I read online (raised bed square foot gardening blog) that when the sweet potato leaves on the slip have the second and/or third set of leaves, cut the lower leaves off next to the stem & bury the stem (build a mound around the stem) up to the top leaves. The article said that the sweet potatoes will grow out from the stem where the leaves were cut-off. ** This was the only time that I saw these particular instructions for planting sweet potatoes.

This past weekend I cut-off the bottom leaves on the sweet potato's slip stems and buried the slip stems up to the the top leaves creating a beginning mound on each slip.

I have three (3) more different sweet potato slips being sent from Sandhill Preservation Center. (Orange Oak Leaf - vine, and two (2) bush types that I'm getting half-price to be picked by Sandhill)

QUESTIONS:

1 - Has anyone heard of these instructions?

2 - Does anyone use this method of planting sweet potato slips and do you have any further advice on this method? (like how many bottom leaves can I keep cutting/mound building and still harvest good sweet potatoes?)

3 - Has anyone planted these sweet potatoes: Wilma's and/or Orange Leaf. What advice can you give me on these vine type sweet potatoes?

4 - When my 'bush type' sweet potato slips arrive, what advice/information can you tell me?

5 - *** I was told that Sweet Potato Leaves were good to cook and tasted similar to spinach. Has anyone instructions & recipes on cooking Sweet Potato Leaves? Can Sweet Potato Leaves be frozen and/or dehydrated?

Thank you for any and all information.