X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanting tomato answers, kinda technical

I've been raising a certain type of tomato for about 25 years, got the seeds from a member of Seed Savers approx. 1985. Now I notice on different sites on the internet they have a type called Climbing Triple L, supposed to be a heirloom, described as acidic, growing 15 to 20 feet tall. Anyhow the ones I grow are called triple climbers and they are very different. They can grow very tall as long as you can tie them up, but the leaves are different. Mine are bigger with smooth edges (I've only seen a picture of the Climbing Triple L). Also the triple climbers are a sweet and very large tomato with very few seeds. I have kept the bloodline pure although I think they have acclimated to growing here in Fairbanks, Alaska. Would this be just two different varieties with similar names? Or could there be something else going on?

I have no idea what that could be, but I grew Bangladesh heart and it was a vine-like climber. Being a heart type, it had very little seeds and on the sweet side. Fruits were mostly one lb range.

dcarch

Comment

It could be the Bangladesh heart, maybe that's the original bloodline. I'm almost kinda sure though that these triple climbers I grow are the same ones that were kind of a popular breed approx. 1900-1940, then the seed catalogs dropped them, maybe they lost popularity or something. But I've talked to gardeners in their 90's and I've never heard of the now popular climbing triple L. Anyhow regardless I'll never give up on these plants. Do you know much about tomatoes getting acclimated to certain areas? I think I've got these acclimated to Fairbanks, AK. Seems like they have really toughened up over the years.

Comment

What's the fruit color of your Triple Climbers. Ami

Comment