X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ashes in compost????

I thought I read that ash can be used in compost. I'm not sure what type of ash though. I kind of think adding BBQ/charcoal ash wouldn't be too healthy. Any thoughts or experiences?

I have some thoughts and experiences, but I don't know if they are mainstream...

I would say don't use ash from charcoal briquettes, but that real charcoal from real wood (made by burning small chunks of wood slowly at very low oxygen levels) would make a suitable ash. I use ash from hardwood fires (from my woodstove) occasionally and in small amounts in the compost, for its mineral content. I would think that the pH level is a bit high to use it routinely in the compost, for the sake of the microbes that are at work there.

I would also have thought that the pH is too high for the comfort of Earthworms, but I find them thriving under the layer of ash in the firepit when I clean it out.

Comment

I have used ash, and it's very good in the garden.

I am also hoping that would encourage morel mushroom to grow.

dcarch

Comment

I use ash from my wood-burning fireplace (we burn real wood) in both compost pile and in garden beds (beets and cababges love higher pH, and thrive in the soil with ash added). I make sure I do not pile it up, but sprinkle it eavenly and work it into the soil.

I also add a little bit of it into my home-made soil mixes, with great success.

Do not ask me how much I add, as I never measure. . But I use up all my fireplace produces over the winter...

Comment

i remember reading somewhere, don't remember where, that residue from the bb

Comment

Back when we used a wood burning boiler I would empty ashes directly onto the garden or in the compost bins, depending on the time of year. Now I just put ashes from leaves we've burned into the compost bins, covering with other material so that they don't blow away.

Comment