X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Storing Turnips: Problem

This is my first time trying to save turnip seeds. I've read about how to do it, cut the tops to about 2" and store them in sand over the winter. My problem is: I harvested the turnips in early November, and stored them in a covered crate of sand in the basement. I was down there the other day and noticed the lid was coming off. After I opened the lid I was surprised to see ALL the turnips are resprouting! What is going on?? Is it too warm down there? Are they saveable yet? Or do I have to start over next year? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.....Jeff

I'll venture an answer, though I don't have any experience with it as I overwinter turnips in the ground. I'd suggest temperature as the culprit. Too warm so they didn't go into dormancy. I'm pretty sure they won't be any good for seed saving now. For next season, is there any chance you could just mulch them heavily and leave them in the garden over winter?
    Sorry I can't be of more help.

Comment

Thaks for the response Ray, That's what I was afraid of. The problem with overwintering in my area is rodents, I've left beets in the ground and mulched them only to find them hollowed out in the spring. I guess if I dug down some hardware cloth several inches maybe it would work. It does get below zero around here alot in the winter.

Comment

Get a large Rubbermaid or similar storage container and bury it to the top. Use either sawdust or very dry sand to pack around the turnips. Put the lid on and cover it with a pile or large bag of leaves or bale of straw or hay. One can do the same with beets, carrots, mangels, parsnips, and rutabagas. All those are currently in a 28-gallon container and being used as needed in the kitchen. They all easily keep until May.

Comment

What WI LO M said.