X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too early for slips!?

I know, it's way too early to be starting sweet potato slips but, my tubers are sprouting! I didn't even put them in water or moist soil! Do you suppose its possible to keep these little guys alive and well until planting out (much) later? Alternatively, if i keep removing the slips will the potato keep producing them until it's really time to begin starting them? Are these early sprouting sweets not really the ones I want to be propogating anyway since their shelf life is shorter? This is my first attempt at starting my own sweets and I'm new at seed saving anyhow, so any advice will be greatly appreciated because I'm sure you guys know more than I do!

You're only about 5 weeks early since normal starting time would be around mid-February. If the tubers aren't in soil or water, they should not get too long. I've had them sprout but they never get big on their own. Also, the early ones won't be inferior for any reason.

But, nothing wrong with starting them proper now. You may find it hard to believe but I have slips that are a foot long. They were started on 11-11. In a few days they will be broken off and put in water. They won't get any bigger in next 5 months as all they'll do is develop roots. The parent tubers will then produce more slips.

Comment